another opportunity for your students

21 May

Another key American in our work this week has been Chris Black, who has been serving here in São Paulo for nearly two years as a “Journeyman,” one of the IMB’s amazing opportunities for recent college graduates. Many of your students may be seeking God’s will following college graduation, and this generation especially is interested in opportunities like these! Could you let your students know about “J-man”?

When I began to sense God leading me to something other than graduate school after my soon-approaching college graduation, serving as a Journeyman was not something I had in mind. I had been overseas before and served on various short-term trips, but I never imagined myself serving for two years in a foreign country.

But I sought hard after what the Lord wanted me to do, and through various events I found myself completing the application for the Journeyman program. Nearly eight months later, after graduating from the University of Georgia, I stepped off the plane into what was to be my new home: São Paulo, Brazil.

Since I came from a small town in the mountains of Northeast Georgia, a booming city of over 20 million people was quite a change! However, the adjustment to a new culture and language came more quickly than I expected, and I soon found myself falling in love with the people to whom God had sent me.

Spending many of my days on college campuses meeting students and hanging out late into the night at coffee shops throughout the city were activities that became my passion. Hearing young people share with me the struggles of loneliness and emptiness they so often faced broke my heart, and those conversations fueled my desire for them to know the only One who can truly offer life in abundance. Students were searching for truth, and there was no one to share with them the story of the only Man who could offer hope.

The Journeyman program has provided me the opportunity to share with these young people the love that can be found only in Jesus. With only two months left with the people I have grown to call family and in the city which has become home, I am confident that this experience has shaped my heart and mind in an invaluable way. The task is before us. We have been called to go to all nations and make disciples. The command was never “come and and see,” but “go and tell.” We cannot wait for those who do not know Christ to come to us. We MUST go to them.

For much more about Chris’s experience, point your students to his blog: chrisblackchrisblack.blogspot.com.

Leave a Reply

